About last night.

Ok, I haven’t written regular blog stuff thus far so here goes.

Last  night I visited my temple in Orlando (Shri Shivdham Hindu temple) . We are celebrating the one year anniversary of the installation of Sri Radhakrishna at the temple.  Here’s a few photos of the temple you might like. As always it was a soothing rejuvenating experience.  If you have any questions feel free to ask.

6 replies on “About last night.”

  1. Namashkar,
    It looks like a wonderful temple. We are planning on taking our daughter to Disneyland sometime and we will take a trip to the temple too.
    Aum Shivaya

    1. It’s a small friendly temple. If you want to see a really nice temple in the area look at the Hindu society of Central Florida website. We were there for the Maha Kumbhabhishekam. Its a big temple with a community hall etc. Also, contact me before visiting Disney I can give you some insider tips that can save you time and money.
      Paul

  2. Hello there, I’ve been studying hinduism on and off for the past couple of years and finally made the descision recently, to actually visit a temple. I just wanted to say thanks to you I discovered Shri Shivdham Temple. Swamiji was extremely friendly and was eager to answer any questions I had. It wasn’t very busy when I went but the handful of people I met there were very nice and helpful.
    I can’t tell you how nervous I was about attending, but they helped make me feel so much better! Hope to see you there one of these days! ^_^

    1. Thank you so much for both writing and visiting temple. My blog is justified at last. My whole intention was for westerners to discover Hinduism and in particular visit a temple. And you went to mine. That’s amazing. I’m glad you met Swamiji. He is an amazing man. When I listen to his services he always has an uncanny knack to be talking about some concern or problem I’ve been going through. It might sound odd for a white guy to say that. But he has touched our families lives profoundly.

      If you want to visit more temples you should try the Hindu Society of Central Florida temple in Casselberry. It’s huge and beautiful. The website is http://hindutempleorlando.org

      I’d been planning a post on visiting a temple to ease peoples nerves and let people know what to expect. Now I know I should write that one next.

      Attending a temple, I felt awkward for me my first time. I still do sometimes. Fortunately my wife was also an anglo Hindu of many many years so that helped.
      Also if you attend a nice friendly temple they will steer you in the right direction. Devotees can be wary of westerners in their temples but with the right respectful attitude, devotees tend to be quite helpful.

      I too hope to meet you at temple.
      Thank you again. I feel justification for writing this blog at last.

      Paul

      1. Well, your blog has been helpful in many other ways, too.
        I’ve seen the website for Hindu Society of Central Florida, but I never visited because I’m not familiar w/ Casselberry.
        Besides, a big temple might not be a good idea for me right now, lol. 😛

Comments are closed.